專訪David Tsang - 銷售及市務總監
   
   
   
  David Tsang -
銷售及市務總監
 

可以簡單而扼要介紹公司的背景? 有什麼優勢?
美創來元件有限公司,是一間提供一站式的電子零件供應商。我們所提供的零件十分多元化,務求讓客戶能既輕鬆又方便地,於美創來搜購他們需要的零件,節省時間及成本。我們專長於為客戶搜尋具特別需要的電子零件,過去,我們已成功為80%的客戶搜購到這些具特別需要的電子零件。另外,為了擴大市場佔有率及開拓本地及國內的商機,美創來不但在香港設置基地,更在深圳及上海設立辦公室。

面對強勢的競爭環境,有什麼方法可以突圍而出,站穩一個席位?
現今的市場是以客人為主導,我相信客人永遠是對的。因此我會要求我的員工要滿足客人的要求,不可得失客人,客人要什麼,我們就給他什麼,如果我們沒有的,就為客人搜羅。我常常說,美創來要成為一間電子零件的超級廣場,因此我們的產品是應有盡有,希望可以做到客人一想到要一件產品時,我們就可以立刻提供到。

現今資訊發達,客戶有大量途徑獲得所需資訊,公司怎樣做才成功令客戶稱心滿意,成為公司忠心的客戶?
我們有超過95%的產品都是以代理形式出售,要客人忠心於我們,好大程度依靠銷售人員的配合,因為銷售員是直接接觸客人的,銷售員的表現就代表了公司的形象。因此我要求我的同事在會見客人的時間,一定要詳細解釋產品的資料,好處及壞處,不可隱瞞。有時客人未必清楚產品有什麼不好的地方,有什麼地方未能配合他們的需要,這方面有賴銷售員的解釋。假如銷售員沒有解釋清楚,就算客人今次買了我們的產品,對我們都不會有好印象,以後有需要都不會再找我們,客人又怎會忠心於我們呢。

員工是公司重要的財產,公司怎樣管理人手同分配工作?
我絕對贊成員工是公司的財產,他們的表現及質素對公司來說有很大的影響。員工一定要與公司擁有相同的方向,這樣才可與公司同步發展。另外在分配人手方面,我會將一些有鬥心的同事放在最前線,做銷售的工作,大家都知道銷售的工作很容易會碰釘子,沒有鬥心作推動力,根本無法完成工作。而一些比較細心的同事,我會安排他負責做銷售助理的工作,支援銷售人員,跟進客人的需要。此外,公司聘請員工時,我會親自面見應徵者,絕不會假手於人,因為只有我自己才知道公司需要的是什麼。

作為一名銷售工程師,應該具備什麼條件?
剛才我都有提過這一個條件,就是鬥心。銷售的工作是十分艱辛的,經常要出外會見客人,有需要時又要往返香港大陸,工作時間十分長,但換來的可能是客人的無禮對待,而且不是每個客人都會與我們做生意,同事的付出往往不是可以立刻得到回報,如果輕易氣餒,是不可能成功的。因此,鬥心對銷售的同事來說是十分重要。

可以分享公司未來發展大計?
未來當然是要把公司做得更好。我剛才都提過,要將美創來發展成為一間包羅萬象的電子零件超級廣場,因此於香港設立了兩隊銷售隊伍,分別負責不同的產品線,同時我又發展大陸的市場,現在已經有三名銷售工程師協助公司開發大陸市場。我經常說,公司需要動力,因此我會繼續創新,發掘人才。最近我就聘請了一位女性做銷售工程師的工作。很多人都認為這一行十分艱辛,女孩子未必可以經得起這些考驗。但我卻認為,女孩子比較細心,可以照顧到客人的需要。事實證明,女孩子和其他人一樣,都擁有作為銷售工程師的條件 – 鬥心,她的表現不會遜色於其他有經驗的同事。

作為萬保剛的子公司,你覺得萬保剛在那些方面有助公司的業務發展 ?
萬保剛在世界很多地方都有分公司,銷售網絡十分完善,有助我們擴大市場佔有率。同時,在為客人搜尋一些具有特別需要的電子零件時,我們就多了很多渠道,幫助我們建立客戶群。此外,由於有很多行政工作都可以由集團協助,因此減低了我們的營運成本,相對產品的價錢也具競爭力。

美創來已經連續兩年獲得最佳業績獎,可否分享一下心得 ?
又不可以說心得,只是我知道公司需要什麼,就是動力,因此我的同事大多十分年青,有些更是初次接觸電子行業。我不會介意同事沒有這方面的知識,因為這些同事才不會被框架困住,他們就會有新的意念、意見和想法,會想到我們以前沒有想過的,他們會為公司帶來很多機會和創新。同時,我們又會花時間在一些「需要力量開發的產品」,即是一些需要很多時間及資源去鑽研的零件,因為有很多公司都不願意分配資源於這一方面,但我卻有不同的想法,市場上對這類型的產品有一定的需求,而且這些產品與其他的不同,它們的生命週期比較長,而且利率高,確是值得去開發。
至於來年會否繼續蟬聯這個獎?老實說,我覺得工作最重要的是對自己有所交代,不是為了獎項。雖然萬保剛旗下有眾多子公司,但我們不是與他們競爭,而是與自己競爭。我期望今年公司會比以前做得更好,更出色。

最近美創來新添了一位合作伙伴,ROHM,可否介紹一下ROHM這一間公司,美創來又為什麼會選擇ROHM為合作伙伴 ?
ROHM是世界有名的日本半導體生產商,於2009年初,我們開始與ROHM合作。ROHM有很多出名的產品,在市場上亦十分普遍。但我們不是推廣這些普遍的產品,而是我之前所說的,「需要力量開發的產品」。我們亦跟ROHM協議,除了代理他們的產品外,還會協助他們開發這類型的產品,預求達到雙嬴的局面。
在選擇合作伙伴時,除了產品的質素外,我們還會考慮公司的忠誠。我們不介意與合作伙伴一同走過困境及艱難,因此我希望我們的合作伙伴無論是高處或低處,都可以與我們一同渡過。

 
 

Product Line


AUK
OMNIVISION
IK
TACHYONICS
GE
ACP
CENTRAL
CLARE
CHI-LICK SCHURTER
CHILISIN
COOPER BUSSMANN
COSMO
DUCATI ENERGIA
FIGARO
FUDAN
HKE RELAY
HONGFA
HOSONIC
INNOCHIPS TECHNOLOGY
JOINSET
JOYIN

 

MMC & KAMAYA
KC-TECH
KORCHIP
KIONIX
LITEON
MATEFORD
MURATA
NEMOTO
NISSEI
PARTSNIC
ROHM
SAE
SAMWHA
SANREX
SANYOU
SEMIWELL
SHM
SHIBAURA
SRC DEVICES
SYHITECH
TEAMYOUNG
WEILIN (WECC)

 
 
 
 
Copyright © by MILLIARD DEVICES LIMITED. All right reserved.

Interview of Mr. David Tsang, Sales and Marketing Director
   
   
   
  David Tsang -
Sales & Marketing Director
 

Could you please introduce your company background? Is there any edge for your company?

Milliard provides one-stop purchasing service of electronic component. We have variety of components that save customers' time and cost, so our customers are able to find what they need efficiently. We are professional in helping customers to search for critical component. In the past, we have successfully helped 80% of our customers to search for these kinds of critical components. In order to expand our market share and explore more opportunity, we not only set up office in Hong Kong, but also in Shenzhen and Shanghai.

Facing a competitive market, how can you strive for success?

Now the market is customer oriented. I believe that customers are always right. So I request my staffs to fulfill what customers need. We should provide what customers want. If we do not have such kind of product, we should search for our customer. I always emphasize that, Milliard is an electronic components super store, so we have wide range of products. In this way, when a customer wants to buy a product, they will think of us immediately.

Nowadays the technology is prosperous, customers can get information easily. How can Milliard satisfy customers¡¦ needs and let them to be loyal to you?

95% of our products are in agent based. To have loyal customer, our salesmen are the key as they are the contact window to our customers. They represent our company image. So I request my colleagues to explain the detail of the product clearly to customers without conceal, whatever it is good or bad. Sometime the customers may not clear the weakness of the product or whether the product can fit their needs. If our salesman has not explained clearly, the customer will not buy from us again. If this is the case, customer will never loyal to us.

Staffs are an important asset to company, how do you manage you staffs and allocate the job duty?

I agree that staffs are an important asset to a company. Their performance and quality will have a great impact to a us. Staffs must have the same goal with company, so we can grow together. Allocating the job duty, I would ask those colleagues who are energetic and enthusiastic responsible for the sales job. We all know that selling is difficult. You can not do it successfully with energy and enthusiast. On the other hand, those who are more attentive will be responsible for sales coordination. They will support salesmen in daily operation and help them to follow customers' needs. In addition, I will interview all of the job applicants in person because I am the only one who knows what the company needs.

As a Sales Engineer, what kind of requirements is necessary?

I have just mentioned the requirement, which is energy and enthusiast. Selling is a difficult job. We always need to meet customer, sometimes we need to travel to China, so the working hour is very long. However, we may not able to get the business from customer in return. Even you have paid lots of effort, it is not necessary to get the return immediately. If you are easily dejected, you will never success. Therefore, energy and enthusiast are very important to a salesman.

Can you share your future plan?


I would like to operate our company better. I had mentioned before, I aim at operating Milliard as an electronic component super store, that's why I set up two sales teams in Hong Kong. They are responsible for different product lines respectively. At the same time, I also develop China market. Currently we have 3 Sales Engineers helping company to explore China market. I always emphasize that, our company needs motivation; so I would keep being creative and looking for talent. Recently I have hired a female to be a Sales Engineer. Many people think that this is a hard job and a girl can not handle it. However, I have different point of view. Girls are more attentive, they are able to take care customers. The fact proves that, girl also has the requirement of a Sales Engineer, energy and enthusiast. Her performance is as good as the others who are experienced.

As a Mobicon's subsidiary, in what way had Mobicon helps your company in development?


Mobicon has many subsidiaries over the world and the sales network is well developed. This can help us to expand our market share. And we have more channels when we are searching some critical component for our customers, so we are able to develop a wide customer base. In addition, Mobicon has helped us to handle many administrative works, this saves us operation cost so our price is more competitive.

Milliard has been the winner of The Most Outstanding Achievement for two years, could you please share your tips?

I just know what our company need, it's motivation. That's why most of my colleagues are very young, some of them are the first time to join electronic industry. I do not mind our colleagues do not have knowledge about electronic because they will not be bounded. They are creative and have new idea that we never think before. They would bring many new chances and creative to our company. At the same time, we also spend time on product that needs energy to develop, this is the components that need time and resource to develop. Most of the companies are not willing to allocate resources in this kind of component, but I have different opinion. There is demand of this kind of product in market. Furthermore this kind of product is different with others as its product life circle is longer, and profit margin is higher, so it's worth to develop.
Will we get the award in the coming year? To be honest, I think that we do not work for award, but for ourselves. Although Mobicon has many subsidiaries, we do not compete with them, but ourselves. I hope that we can do better and more outstanding this year.

Recently Milliard has a new partner, ROHM. Could you introduce ROHM and explain why you will cooperate with ROHM?


ROHM is the leading JAPANESE semi-conductor producer in Asia. We cooperated with ROHM at the beginning of 2009. ROHM's products are popular in market. However we do not promote these popular products, but the products that I mentioned before, products that needs energy to develop. We have also compromised with ROHM that we will not only act as an agent of their product, but also help them to explore and develop this kind of product. This will benefit both of the party.
When choosing a partner, we will consider the product quality and company loyalty. We do not mind to tide over hardship with our partner, so I hope our partner can tide over with us whenever up or down.

 
 

Product Line


AUK
OMNIVISION
IK
TACHYONICS
GE
ACP
CENTRAL
CLARE
CHI-LICK SCHURTER
CHILISIN
COOPER BUSSMANN
COSMO
DUCATI ENERGIA
FIGARO
FUDAN
HKE RELAY
HONGFA
HOSONIC
INNOCHIPS TECHNOLOGY
JOINSET
JOYIN

 

MMC & KAMAYA
KC-TECH
KORCHIP
KIONIX
LITEON
MATEFORD
MURATA
NEMOTO
NISSEI
PARTSNIC
ROHM
SAE
SAMWHA
SANREX
SANYOU
SEMIWELL
SHM
SHIBAURA
SRC DEVICES
SYHITECH
TEAMYOUNG
WEILIN (WECC)

 
 
 


 
Copyright © by MILLIARD DEVICES LIMITED. All right reserved.